my creative adventures

trying out my pencils January 6, 2007

Filed under: Drawings — paulien @ 5:18 pm

Today I finally tried out my new pastel pencils. It is a set of 30 pencils by Van Gogh, in a nice plastic box. It was a bit weird, they differ a lot from coloured pencils. But how much fun they are!
penguin
I did this drawing of a penguin today, made from a photo. I like the penguin itself, but the ground is much more difficult. He is walking on snow, and I didn’t get that right. I saw all kind of greys and blues, not only white.

 

5 Responses to “trying out my pencils”

  1. Kary Says:

    Very nice! He is adorable. Glad you are having fun with the pencils.

  2. Donn Says:

    Very good! Looks like you used the pencils okay. As far as snow goes, it’s hardly every white, mostly shades of blue. You’ll see the white where the sun hits the highlights.

  3. Carol Says:

    I love the penguin! You did a super job of drawing/shading with your new pencils!–Carol

  4. Casey Says:

    Great penguin! It’s nice to finally visit your blog Paulien. I’ve seen messages from you before but always seemed to miss a link here. I’ll be back – I especially love the plant sketches a little further down.

  5. Linda Says:

    I love the penguin! It’s so much fun to play with a new medium!


Leave a Reply

